The workshop aims to unite researchers and practitioners who work towards the understanding of biological structures and dynamics from the molecular to the ecological scale and apply these insights to the engineering of novel materials, devices and systems.


The workshop will take place in Columbia University in the City of New York.


Prof. Henry Hess


Department of Biomedical Engineering, Columbia University




Prof. Parag Katira

Department of Mechanical Engineering, San Diego State University


Prof. Ashutosh Agarwal

Department of Biomedical Engineering, University of Miami


Prof. Takahiro Nitta

Department of Electrical, Electronical and Computer Engineering, Gifu University


Prof. Amit Sitt

Faculty of Exact Sciences, Tel Aviv University



To register, please send an email to hhess@columbia.edu




Monday, May 28 Tuesday, May 29 Wednesday, May 30
8:00 - 9:00 Breakfast Breakfast Breakfast
9:00 - 9:30 A. Sen D. Trauner D. Nicolau
9:30 - 10:00 S. Sanchez A. Sitt T. Nitta
10:00 - 10:30 R. Iino R. Yokokawa T. Korten
10:30 - 11:00 Coffee Break Coffee Break Coffee Break
11:00 - 11:30 Z. Bryant H. Lu P. Katira/D. Bogdanowicz
11:30 - 12:00 A. Gennerich A. Agarwal H. Inaba/V. Vandelinder
12:00 - 12:30 A. Mansson O. Shefi A. Obermeyer/P. Huang
12:30 - 2:00 Lunch (on your own) Lunch (on your own) Lunch (on your own)
2:00 - 2:30 A. Kakugo H. Matsui G. Saper/S. Gosh
2:30 - 3:00 W. Paxton M. Stojanovic A. Lam /T. Patino
3:00 - 3:30 I. Kretzschmar S. Leslie S. Maiti/Y. Zhang
3:30 - 4:00 Coffee Break Coffee Break Coffee Break
4:00 - 4:30 K.H. Ernst N. Miyamoto Panel Discussion (H. Lu, T. Danino)
4:30 - 5:00 M. Urban I. Riedel-Kruse Panel Discussion (H. Lu, T. Danino)
5:00 - 5:30 G. Bachand J. Lahann
5:30 - 6:00 Break Break Break
6:00 - 8:00 Poster Session Conference Dinner


Invited Speakers


Dr. George Bachand

Sandia National Laboratory


Prof. Zev Bryant

Stanford University


Prof. Tal Danino

Columbia University


Prof. Karl-Heinz Ernst

Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science


Prof. Arne Gennerich

Albert Einstein College of Medicine


Prof. Possu Huang

Stanford University


Prof. Ryota Iino

NINS Institute for Molecular Science


Prof. Hiroshi Inaba

Tottori University


Prof. Akira Kakugo

Hokkaido University


Dr. Till Korten

TU Dresden


Prof. Ilona Kretzschmar

City College New York


Prof. Joerg Lahann

University of Michigan


Prof. Sabrina Leslie

McGill University


Prof. Heiner Linke

Lund University


Prof. Helen Lu

Columbia University


Prof. Alf Mansson

Linnaeus University


Prof. Nobuyoshi Miyamoto

Fukuoka Institute of Technology


Prof. Dan Nicolau

McGill University


Prof. Allie Obermeyer

Columbia University


Dr. Walter Paxton

Sandia National Laboratory


Prof. Ingmar Riedel-Kruse

Stanford University


Prof. Samuel Sanchez

Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia


Prof. Ayusman Sen

Pennsylvania State University


Prof. Orit Shefi

Bar-Ilan University


Prof. Milan Stojanovic

Columbia University


Prof. Dirk Trauner



Prof. Marek Urban

Clemson University


Prof. Ryuji Yokokawa

Kyoto University



Financial Support


We gratefully acknowledge generous financial support from the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Foundation.


Quick Links